facebooktwitter Instagram youtube  


The Girl Scouts of the Commonwealth of Virginia (GSCV) Board Governance and Nominations Committee is pleased to announce that submission of names of prospective candidates for the GSCV Board of Directors and the Board Governance and Nominations Committee for 2016 are now being accepted. 

The committee will accept submission of names of prospective candidates year round.  However, September 15, 2015, is the deadline for referrals in order to be considered in the nominations process for the 2016 slate to be presented to the corporate membership at the Annual Meeting on March 5, 2016. 

Click on this link to download the 2016 Candidate Form. 

If you or someone you know would like to contribute to the investment of leadership development of young women and have the time, energy and resources available, please complete the 2016 Candidate Form and send to:

By mail:  Attention:  Board Governance and Nominations Committee Girl Scouts of the Commonwealth of Virginia 4900 Augusta Avenue, Suite 200 Richmond, VA 23230

By Fax:            (804) 340-2910

By email:         This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  

Positions available include:

* Adult Board of Director Members-at-Large and Officers

ยท     * Girl Board of Director Members-at-Large

      * Board Governance and Nominations Committee members

Additional information can be found regarding the positions and elections process in the GSCV Bylaws. 

REFERRAL DEADLINE: September 15, 2015 for the 2016 Slate

Please contact Nancy Womack at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  with any questions.

GSCV Board of Directors Description (inclusive of Officers and Adult and Girl Members-at-Large)

  • The board of directors is accountable to the elected membership for managing the affairs of the council; to the board of directors of GSUSA for compliance with the charter requirements; to the Commonwealth of Virginia for adhering to state corporate law; and, to the federal government in matters relating to legislation affecting non-profit and non-stock organizations.
  • All directors are assigned to and actively participate in specific committees.
  • Girl board members participate in all board activity but do not have voting rights.
  • A commitment of time, energy and resources is required. 


Board Governance and Nominations Committee Description

  • Recruits, reviews, and confirms the qualifications of candidates for elected positions in the Council.
  • Provides to the membership a single slate for all positions for elections, including: officers, directors, and board governance and nominations committee members; and delegates and alternates to the National Council of Girl Scouts of the United States of America.

In conjunction with the Board of Directors, develops the following:

  • Board orientation and education materials
  • Board development materials
  • Methods for identifying needed skills and talents for the Board of Directors and committees
  • Methods for succession planning
  • Board annual self-assessment materials
  • Conducts Board orientation and development training sessions as needed and/or as directed by the Board of Directors.
  • Promotes the organization



Board members are elected by the corporate membership and are accountable to the membership for governance of the council and stewardship of the council's critical resources, to the National Board of Directors of GSUSA for compliance with charter requirements, and to the state of Virginia.  The board of directors is accountable to the federal government in matters affecting nonprofit corporations.


BarbaraBailey  Chair, Barb Bailey

 MarkHasty Vice Chair, Mark Hasty

Smith  Secretary, Giovonni Hargraves Smith

  TreMerithewasurer, Scott Merithew

Batchelor  Samantha Batchelor
Bruer  Lisa Bruer

Bryant2Liz Bryant
Angela Cchianghiang
Geisz  Lynne Geisz
JudyJennings  Judy Jennings
Tawanda Johnson  Tawanda Johnson
lunneyMelanie Lunney
Otto  Paula Otto
paxtonMonique Paxton
Quinn  Colleen Quinn
Wade  Pamela Wade

   Molly Fuller, CEO






Bonnie Atwood          2010-2012                  

Barbara Bailey                        2011-2013                                          

Carol Baker                 2010-2012                              

Marci R. Catlett                                                                                                          2011-2013                              

Jane Kornegay Eng                                                                                                     2010-2012                              

Jessica Erickson          2010-2012                                          

Carmen Foster             2011-2013                                          

Claire Guthrie Gastanaga                                                                                            2010-2012      

Vicki Harris                 2011-2013                              

Debra Harrison            2010-2012                                          

Mark D. Hasty                        2010-2012                              

Kimberly Lettner        2010-2012                                          

Scott Merithew           2010-2012                                          

Steve Malone              2011-2013                              

Elizabeth Morgan        2011-2013                              

Michelle Oliver           2011-2013                                

Tiyona Taylor              2011-2013                                     

Gabriela Wetherington            2011-2013                    

Adrienne M. Whitaker            2010-2012